This isn’t quite timely as I intended to write this Sunday after the SF Giants clinched the Western Division title on Saturday night.  Of course, my baseball loving husband was estatic that we made it to the playoffs, again…hoping for another miracle October and play in the World Series.

I, however, thought of the metaphor of baseball appropriate to the game of business.  When listening to the post game interviews, I kept hearing how the Giants persevered throughout the season.  Here’s a quote from the MLB.com site.  The article:  Top ten reason why Giants won the West: “Resilience defined these Giants, who weren’t rattled by anything.”  Another quote referring to their leader: “Bochy’s perpetual calm helped guide the Giants past the injuries to Wilson and Sandoval, Aubrey Huff’s decline from everyday status, Tim Lincecum’s first-half ineffectiveness and the Cabrera suspension. Moreover, Bochy always handles his bullpen expertly, which is one of the toughest challenges for any manager.”  You gotta admire that guy who knows how to keep his players motivated throughout a long and arduous season.

So Resilience and Strong Leadership from the top…2 things I can adapt to Words and Watercolors.  As I’ve always said, it is my dogged determination that gets me places…my never give up attitude despite what challenges, disconcerting comments or problems I may encounter.

I’m going to try my darndest to keep making good decisions (not waste time conjuring up all kinds of what ifs), pursue new products and opportunities even when I’m out of my comfort zone (“successful people must learn to be comfortable with being uncomfortable”, a quote I heard somewhere and totally resonated with…) and hold the vision for the incredible success I want: “Words and Watercolors…around the World…enriching and inspiring…” as my mantra states….

That’s MY vision for reaching the World Series!!  I’ve got a long way to go but hey…I’ve got all the time in the world as well!!  I’ll try to adopt the Bruce Bochy calm and zen like attitude toward it all!